Tuesday, June 9, 2020

NRC Commissioner Wright Sworn in for Second Term

Nuclear Regulatory Commission - News Release
No: 20-032 June 8, 2020
CONTACT: Office of Public Affairs, 301-415-8200

NRC Commissioner Wright Sworn in for Second Term

David A. Wright, nominated by President Donald J. Trump and confirmed by the U.S. Senate, was sworn in today as an NRC Commissioner by Chairman Kristine L. Svinicki for a second term. Wright’s second term as Commissioner will begin July 1, 2020, and will end on June 30, 2025.

Wright previously served as Owner/President of Wright Directions, LLC, a strategic energy and water consulting and communications business. He also served as a member and Chairman of the South Carolina Public Service Commission from 2004-2013. He was elected and served as President of the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners from 2011-2012. Additionally, he has served as a council member and mayor of Irmo, S.C., and as a member of the South Carolina House of Representatives.

A colon cancer survivor, Wright is an advocate for cancer awareness and education. He received a bachelor’s degree in political science from Clemson University.

The NRC is comprised of five Commissioners, one of whom is designated by the President as Chairman. The Commission was established to be a collegial body that formulates policies, develops regulations, issues orders to licensees, and adjudicates legal matters. The Commissioners serve five-year terms, with one term expiring every year on June 30. No more than three Commissioners may be of the same political party.

No comments: